Motor Sport

Stage set for exciting finish

November 13 - 19, 2019

Gulf Weekly Stage set for exciting finish

Battles rage on at Bahrain Karting Sprint Championship (BKSC) with Round Three of the 2019/2020 season, on November 30, predicted to end the calendar year with a bang.

Expectations are running high especially after the thrilling second round which was staged at the Sakhir 1.414-kilometre Commission Internationale de Karting track earlier in the month.

 Karters pulled out all the stops in both the Bahrain Rotax Mojo Max Challenge (BRMMC) and the Bahrain Sodi Sprint World Series (BSSWS), which are both under the BKSC umbrella.

 Fahad Al Khaled, Osama Azzouka, Lewis Smith, Gracie Rose Grantham and Shanthosh Kumar were among the winners in the BRMMC, while Ali Baslar claimed the victory in the BSSWS.

 Al Khaled triumphed in the BRMMC’s Senior Max class. The BirelArt Bahrain team member completed the group’s 15-lap sprint in 14mins 02.300secs. He was 7.078secs ahead of runner-up Omar Al Dereyaan of Praga Middle East Racing, while Yasmin Madani of Demon Racing Team finished third 13.503secs behind.

 Defending champion and Pre-Final winner Mohammed Mattar was handed a 10sec penalty in the race for causing an unavoidable collision, which dropped him from third to seventh on the final classification.

 Azzouka triumphed in the Senior Max Masters category for Praga Middle East. He completed the group’s 15 laps in 14mins 10.659secs, 7.230secs ahead of Fred Clark of BirelArt. Essa Aldossery of ED Racing finished third 26.641secs adrift.

 Lewis joined the meeting’s list of winners after taking the Junior Max class. The up-and-coming Praga ace had a near-perfect day on the track, securing first place in each of his class’ sessions. He clinched their 15-lap Final in 14mins 07.414secs.

 Sulaiman Alkanderi claimed second place 4.733secs behind Lewis, while Abdulla Aldossery of ED finished third 6.255secs back.

 In the Micro Max class, Gracie Rose took a fine victory for Praga in 9mins 39.585secs in their nine-lap Final. Louis Safa of BirelArt came second 4.476secs behind, while Khaled Alnajjar followed close behind in third 4.740secs from the victor.

 In the Mini Max class, defending champion Shanthosh Kumar inherited the victory after Luca Kane Houghton was handed a 10-second penalty for causing an unavoidable collision with Santhosh, dropping Luca Kane to third.

 Shanthosh was classified as the victory in 9mins 09.044secs. Ahmed Alsesey of Praga was second 5.273secs back while Houghton’s penalty put him 9.9775secs from first place.

 Meanwhile, Baslar triumphed in the BSSWS Final following a tough battle amongst the front-runners. Baslar completed the 15-lap sprint in 18mins 20.585secs. Ahmed Ebrahim was the runner-up with a narrow 0.390secs gap while Abubaker Ali came in third 5.610secs off the winning pace.

 Abdulla Buhindi was originally in second but he had a 10 second penalty for also causing an unavoidable collision, which thus dropped him to fifth overall.

 Following the second round of action, Al Khaled and Mattar have a joint-lead in the Senior Max championship standings with 54 points apiece. Azzouka tops the Senior Max Masters with 67 points. Lewis leads the Junior Max class with 60 points, Gracie Rose tops the Micro Max standings with 70 points, and Shanthosh sets the pace in the Mini Max category with 68 points.

 In the BSSWS, Baslar continued to lead the standings following his win. He improved to 100 points.

The 2019/2020

BKSC features seven rounds in all. Round Four will then kick 2020 off on January 11, and then Round Five is set for February 8.

The sixth and penultimate meeting of the season will then be held on March 7, leading up to the championship-finale on April 4.

More on Motor Sport