Motoring Weekly

A taste of success

July 28 - August 3, 2021
Gulf Weekly A taste of success
Gulf Weekly A taste of success

Gulf Weekly Naman Arora
By Naman Arora

Last weekend’s Formula E saw Mahindra Racing take its first victory in the championship in more than two years, as Alex Lynn stormed by the chequered flag in the 13th round of the season.

Lynn was the second to cross the finish line, behind Audi’s Lucas di Grassi who ended up getting black-flagged and disqualified on the final lap after his team opted not to serve a drive-through penalty.

Behind Lynn was Mercedes EQ’s Nyck De Vries in the second race, followed by Mitch Evans (Jaguar), Robin Frijns (Virgin) and Pascal Wehrleing (Porsche).

In the first race, Jake Dennis (BMW) took the win, followed by de Vries, Lynn, Andre Lotterer (Porsche), and Rene Rast (Audi).

“This is my second podium of the weekend, but ultimately, I’m a little disappointed to have only finished runner-up today,” said De Vries after the race.

“However, most of all, I feel sorry for my teammate Stoffel, who deserved the win in my opinion but was taken out by Oliver Rowland. Still, there’s nothing you can do in such cases. All in all, we were a bit unlucky with the safety car, as we had just activated Attack Mode when it came out on track.

“That made me vulnerable following the restart and then Lucas di Grassi was suddenly up front, fighting for the lead, which really surprised me, because he shouldn’t have been there. In the end, Alex Lynn and Mahindra Racing were deserving winners. I gave it my all, but unfortunately, it was impossible to get alongside him and launch another attack.”

Virgin now leads the team championships, followed by Mercedes, Jaguar, Techeetah, BMW I Andretti, Audi, Mahindra, Porsche, Rokit and Nissan.

De Vries continues to lead the drivers in points, followed by Frijns, Sam Bird (Jaguar), Dennis and António Félix Da Costa (Techeetah).

Formula E will now head to Berlin for the final two races of the season, on August 14 and 15, where the 2020-21 Formula E champion will be crowned.


More on Motoring Weekly